Ask J.T.: Information diet

In response to anonymous question:

Where do you get your news?

My relationship with the news is…complicated. That’s a post for another time, however. When I do read “news”, it’s usually through the myriad newsletters that appear in my inbox each morn.

I consult Kommersant, Meduza, Gazeta.ru, ACEWA, VTsIOM, BNE Intellinews (occasionally), academia, several think tanks listed on my ‘Russia Resources’ page, and of course the blogosphere. None of these outlets is perfect. None of them is an indispensable source of Russia information. Everything is taken with a grain of salt, as per the J.T. norm.

In the end, though, nothing feeds the mind like a meticulously researched, well-argued book, even if publication takes longer.

5045418-question-mark-clip-art

 

2 comments

  1. Amen, sister! I have the same complicated relationship with news. I’ve mainly been focusing on reading more Russian, so I try to make myself check Russian sources regularly. My sources are a bit more… how shall we say it? nationalistic? …than the ones you choose, but that’s okay. 🙂 Also, I didn’t know about bne Intellinews—it looks like it’s right up my alley, so I’ll have to check that you.

    But yes, nothing is better than a book. Even the bad ones still teach me a lot, I find. Sometimes it can be rather fun to read something I disagree with and refute it as I read.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion

