No legitimate review in May (NULL)

I will not be publishing a review this month (and the recent double Putin bio review isn’t long enough to count as one). There are several reasons for this:

  1. Lack of access to P.— Library. No books, no reviews.
  2. Overachiever’s disease – I tried to double up and read the post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels before July so I could schedule reviews ahead of time. 2 of 3 summer series reviews have been scheduled thus far.
  3. I’m also currently slogging through an espionage novel – a review is forthcoming, but it won’t make it in time for May.
  4. Horrible internet connection.
  5. Most importantly, I’m trying to take a break – from the media circus surrounding the Russia hearings – which, by the way, have still not yet produced concrete evidence of collusion between the Trump administration and the Russian government. Regardless of outcome, the effects of these hearings on our discourse and political climate unfortunately will be felt for many years to come. Russisteria has already consumed my immediate family. Eyes glued to TV screens, hands clutching the New York Times, they faithfully believe that “they’ll find something”. But I have never been a person of great faith. Instead of joining in (and likely losing my sanity by arguing for more skepticism and rationality), I think I’ll turn to writing and bookbinding. I learned to kettle-stitch today! Enjoy your hearings, o family. Do let me know when they find something.

So that’s the run-down. Russia Roundups and other posts are unaffected, and I’ll be back to reviewing in June.

Leave a Reply

