real thoughts / russian politics

How to spot a Russian troll

The keyed virus unit’s Russian Studies, Media/Journalism, and Public Policy departments will be hosting a lecture tomorrow:

image001

Adrian Chen, staff writer at The New Yorker, and Jonathan Katz, Director of the FHI Media & Journalism Initiative, will lead a discussion about “how a ‘post-truth’ world affects the consumption and production of news.

I love studying at the keyed virus unit. I really do. I chose it over Columbia and Princeton because its Russian Studies program was strong, yet not overly politicized or dominated by mainstream discourse like those of the two Ivy League universities. And fairly neutral the kvu remained, in both reality and in my eyes (the two don’t always align).

Until I read this.

You can do better than this, keyed virus unit. You can do much, much better.

And that’s all I have to say on the matter.

5 thoughts on “How to spot a Russian troll

  1. Oh dear. I hope you attend this and report back with your usual incisive wit about how absurd it is. 🙂 It is my opinion—obviously I could be wrong—that the whole “Russian trolls paid by the Kremlin” thing is way, WAY overblown. Simply put, I don’t think such a movement exists. Has the Kremlin ever paid someone online to say good things about the Russian government and/or Russia? Probably. I could definitely believe that. But is it some sort of organized movement, a la Adrian Chen’s infamous article? I don’t think so. Which basically means a bunch of journalists made this crap up, which isn’t cool. This is one of the many reasons I left Russia-watching. Sigh.

    Also, if my sleuthing is correct, you don’t study at the institution I guessed you studied at! My guess was completely off! 😉 Of course, my sleuthing may not be correct, for all I know… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Join the discussion

